SPR might as well calls itself the 14th party in BarisanNasional

It is now beyond all doubts that SuruhanjayaPilihanraya (SPR) is working for BarisanNasional (BN). The new delineation exercise that has just been announced today has dispelled all doubts that the SPR is just a tool of the BN, helping the BN to consolidate its position and power base.
With such blatant disregard of the fundamental principle of fairness in the delineation exercise, the SPR might as well apply to join as the 14th political party of the BN.
The new delineation exercise has defied the basic principle of one-person-one-vote-one-value. The most glaring anomaly is the Bandar Kuching parliamentary constituency which was already one of the most populous constituencies (52,000 voters), has an addition of BatuLintang state constituency, increasing the number of its voters by another 25,000 to more than 78,000.
However, this disgraceful attempt on the part of the SPR to help BN to win more seats is based on the assumption that the Malay and Dayak voters in the rural area will forever support the BN.
Much as the SPR would like to help the BN, such assumption of perpetual support from Malay and Dayak in the rural area will not stay unchanged forever. This is because as the society progress and with the coming of the internet age and access to information to the Malay and Dayak communities in the rural area. This trend can be seen from the increase in Malay and Dayak support in the urban areas.
Therefore, unless the BN intends to keep the rural community uninformed of the current political and economic development of the country and the state, otherwise, there will surely be a change of political minds amongst the rural people.
We the DAP will continue our efforts in the rural areas, to supply information of cronyism and corruption to the communities there and how such cronyism and corruption have deprived them of their basic amenities, eg. basic infrastructure, reasonable education and medical facilities, etc.
Chong Chieng Jen
DAP Sarawak State Chairman
Member of Parliament for Bandar Kuching
ADUN for Kota Sentosa